Northern Kentucky Water District Board of Commissioners Regular Meeting September 19, 2024

A regular meeting of the Board of Commissioners of the Northern Kentucky Water District was held on September 19, 2024 at the District's facility located at 2835 Crescent Springs Road in Erlanger, Kentucky and via video teleconference in accordance with KRS 61.826. All Commissioners were present, except for Commissioner Gary Holland. Also present were Lindsey Rechtin, Stacey Kampsen, Tom Edge, John Moor, Stacey Hoeter, Chris Bryant, Matt Piccirillo, Kyle Ryan, Adam Smith, and Mary Carol Wagner.

Commissioner Macke called the meeting to order at 12:08 p.m., and Stacey Hoeter led the pledge of allegiance.

The Commissioners reviewed correspondence received and articles published since the last regular Board meeting on August 15, 2024.

On motion of Commissioner Wagner, seconded by Commissioner Koester, the Board unanimously approved the minutes for the regular Board meeting held on August 15, 2024.

The Board was provided a copy of the District's check registers, which included the check number, check date, payee, check amount and description of the reason for each payment, detailing the District's expenditures for the period August 1, 2024 through August 31, 2024. On motion of Commissioner Koester, seconded by Commissioner Winnike, and after discussion, the Board unanimously approved the expenditures of the District for the month of August 2024.

After a short presentation by Kristen Leadingham of Dean Dorton on the December 31, 2023 audit report, Commissioner Macke asked staff to leave the meeting and proceeded to engage in a discussion regarding the audit results and the financial position of the District. Upon conclusion of the discussion, Commissioner Macke requested staff to return to the meeting.

Commissioner Koester left the meeting.

On motion of Commissioner Wagner, seconded by Commissioner Winnike, the Board unanimously accepted the December 31, 2023, audit report as presented.

On motion of Commissioner Winnike, seconded by Commissioner Lange, the Board unanimously accepted the bids of and awarded contracts to Sterling Ventures LLC and Rumpke of Kentucky, Inc. for the disposal of water treatment plant residual solids and authorized staff to execute the appropriate contract documents with two additional one year contract extension periods to be exercised at staff's discretion.

On motion of Commissioner Lange, seconded by Commissioner Wagner, the Board unanimously accepted the bid of \$5,454,350 from Jack Gemmer & Sons Inc., awarded a contract for the Sub-District HB Water Main Extension project with a total project budget of \$6,400,000, and authorized staff to execute the applicable contract documents.

On motion of Commissioner Lange, seconded by Commissioner Wagner, the Board unanimously accepted the bid of \$109,595.00 and awarded a contract to Eckstein Inc. for the Bristow Road Pump Station Roof Replacement project and authorized staff to negotiate and execute the applicable contract documents.

The Board reviewed the District's financial reports and Department reports.

Vice President of Finance & Support Services Stacey Kampsen updated the Board on revenues and expenses and provided updates on the finance and accounting meeting with the Vice-Chair and Treasurer held September 13, 2024, the 2023 Draft Audit Report and PSC Annual Report, RFQs issued for audit services, and main breaks.

General Counsel, Director of Compliance, Communications and Regulatory Affairs Tom Edge provided the Board an update on the BASF and Tyco Proposed Settlements.

Vice President of Engineering, Production & Water Quality John Moor reviewed with the Board the status of ongoing projects within the 2024 5-Year Capital Budget, including highlighting 4 change orders, the current water loss percentage and expenses incurred to date and gave a presentation on the Lead and Copper Rule.

Other matters of a general nature were discussed	l.
On a motion by Commissioner Wagner, seconde 2:33 p.m.	ed by Commissioner Winnike, the meeting was adjourned at
CHAIRMAN	SECRETARY